The School of Secondary Education, Languages Programmes was one of the Seven (7) Schools approved by National Commission for Colleges of Education in Nigeria, which fashioned it’s programme along the College Philosophy. From inception the School of Secondary Education Language Programmes was formerly a departmental Component of the School of Arts that consisted the Department of Christian Religious Studies, Islamic Studies, Social Studies, Nigerian Languages and English Language.

Consequently upon the reorganization by National Commission for Colleges of Education in Nigeria, the School got it’s Autonomy in the year 1993 and became a full fledged school it’s started with two department viz English and Yoruba Departments. Arabic Language Department was pulled out from Islamic study Department. Also in the year 1993, Hausa and Igbo Departments were approved by National Commission for Colleges of Education in Nigeria and French Language Department was established in the year 1998.

At present, the School has just moved to a newly built complex with five Functional Departments namely Arabic Language, English Language, French Language, Hausa Language and Yoruba Language Departments. Owing to none availability of students in Igbo Language Department, the Department has been temporarily close down.

The school has Dr. (Mrs.) O. O Owoeye as the pioneer Dean, between 1994-1997. Others who have served as Dean include Mr. W. O. Fatokun, Mr. Ndudim Chiegonu, Mr. R. F. Buari, Mr. O. A. Idowu while Mrs. M. A. Abimbola is the incumbent Dean as at the time of this compilation.

The school pride itself with well trained personnel, two well equipped standard Language Laboratories, Resource room, Museum, Library and standard classrooms.

The school also runs degree programme in English and French Languages.